You are here > Home > News > News
10 February 2020

Leinster Schools 1st and 2nd Year Indoor Championships 2020

Newbridge College 1st and 2nd Years put on an awesome athletics display in the the National Indoor Arena on Thursday the 6th of February in the Leinster Championships.

Click here to view photos from the Championships

Sophie Byrne won Gold in the 2nd Year Long Jump with a new PB of 4mts95cms.

Lucy Hannon secured Bronze in the 2nd Year 200mts and then teamed up with Sophie, Lara Prendergast and Maeve Lavelle to take Silver in the 4 x 200mts Relay.

Anna Taylor stormed to Silver in the 1st Year 60mts with Kate Halford sprinting brilliantly in the final also.  Anna then linked up with Amy Tyrrell, Leah Tyrrell and Annie O'Neill to anchor her team to Gold in the 1st Year 4 x 200mts Relay.

Heidi Lyons Shot Putted brilliantly for Bronze in the 1st Year Girls event.

The First Year Boys Team of Jack Morrin, Ross Kenny, Leo Healy and Claudio Borganovo took Bronze with a huge relay effort in their race.

The Second Year Boys took their cue from the other teams and were hugely impressive in winning Gold in their 4x 200mts race. The team were Luke Whitfield, Paddy Forde, Ardin Magee and Darragh Conlon.

It was a great day for the College athletics programme with the hard work of the last few months showing in the performances of all the competing Newbridge athletes. Well done to all!

Newbridge College Newbridge, Co. Kildare, Republic of Ireland Tel: +353 45 487200 Fax: +353 45 487234 Email: info@newbridge-college.ie