You are here > Home > News > News
11 May 2009

Sports Roundup 11 May


Congratulations to all our minor and junior athletes on their performances at the South Leinsters on Wednesday of last week.

They won a total of 23 medals.  Well done to all involved. Many of these athletes now go on to the Leinsters.

Relay Results:
U.14 relay team – 1st – Paddy Kyne, Justin Deane, Niall Delahunt & Jack O Neill U.15 relay team – 2nd - Jack Murray, Billy Delaney, Billy Dardis & Padraig Murphy U.15 girls – 3rd – Amy McCormack, Maeve Conlon, Caren Dowling & Clara Berney Individual results:
U.17 steeplechase – 3rd – Dan O’Donoghue
2000m steeplechase – 3rd – Finnian Logan
U.15 100m – 2nd – Billy Delaney & 3rd – Jack Murray
U.14 long jump – 1st – Paddy Kyne
U.14 boys 100m – 1st – Niall Delahunt
U.15 boys 200m – 3rd – Billy Dardis
U15 boys 80m hurdles – 3rd – Charlie Dardis
U.14 boys 800m – 1st – Conn Whelan
U19 boys 400m hurdles 2nd – Darragh McConville
400m hurdles – 2nd – Eoin Murphy.

Congratulations to all our senior athletes on their fantastic performances at the South Leinster on Wednesday. They won a total of 28 medals bringing the total count for the two days to 51 medals. The Senior boys relay team won in convincing style setting a new record in the process of 45.5 sec. These athletes now qualify to the Leinsters which will be held next Wednesday and Saturday.
Relay results:
U.16 relay – 2nd – Aileen Kyne, Melissa Lyons, Maeve O Brien & Ashley O Sullivan
U.16 boys (3rd) – Eoin Murphy, Eoin Rafter, Chris Deane, Matthew Madigan
U.17 relay (2nd) – Aileen Kyne, Maeve O Brien, Melissa Lyons and Shannon Brogan
U.17 relay (2nd) – Chris Deane, Ralph H-O-Dwyer, Brett Cella, Kevyn Mahon
U.19 relay (1st) – Sam C-Murray, Rob O Conor, Conor Buckley and Diarmuid Carr
Individual results:
U.16 long jump (1st) – Aileen Kyne
U.16 200m (1st) – Aileen Kyne
U.17 400m (1st) Eoin Murphy
U.19 100m (1st) – Sam C-Murray
U.19 hurdles (1st) – Darragh McConville
U.17 1500m (3rd) – Dan O Donoghue
U.19 high jump (3rd) – Chris Murphy.


Well done to our U14 Gaelic Football team who won back the Fr Leahy trophy on Wednesday.  The blitz brings together teams form Newbridge, Rockwell, Glenstal and Roscrea and is in it’s 10th year.


Finally we would like to congratulate the following boys who have been selected on to Leinster Squads recently: U19’s James Tracy, Conor Thompson and Darragh Hennebry.  U16’s Jack Hogan and Phillip O’Neill.

Newbridge College Newbridge, Co. Kildare, Republic of Ireland Tel: +353 45 487200 Fax: +353 45 487234 Email: info@newbridge-college.ie