You are here > Home > News > News
20 April 2018

Sports Roundup Friday 20th April 2018


After a full year of competitions Newbridge College have WON the All Ireland Championship Title in the Interschools Showjumping.  

The team of  Caragh Sweeney, Leah Heffernan, Niamh Flinter and Max Ross won the competition on the day after a super jump off.  With this win they also secured the Overall Championship Title.  We must mention Niamh Behan who played her part and has been the super sub all year. Two more cups to added to the Equestrian Club Cabinet this year.  The team of Caragh, Leah, Niamh and Max have won their qualifying ticket to compete in Balmoral on the 19th of May.  

The team of Niamh Behan, Ivanna Dempsey, Jack Ross and Leah Ross came 5th on the day.

Niamh Flinter won the Open Individual competition on the day to secure the Individual Title.
Max came 2nd on the day to come 2nd overall in the Individual league. Niamh Behan came 3rd with Leah Ross 4th.

Jack Ross won the 1.10cms competition on the day and this is a brilliant achievement as it is his last outing for the school as he is in 6th year.

The team of Sophie Carroll, Emma Brady and Rachel Ross won Best Tack and Turn out on the day.

In the Novice Arena we had one team representing the school with Aoife Keane, Alice O'Neill, Orla Ring and Kate Maloney they all had super rounds but were unfortunate not to get into the jump off.

Sophie O'Neill won the 70cms competition and delighted to be bringing the cup home.  


Congratulations to each of the following students on winning the best male and female athletes in their respective categories.
U.14: Bebhinn Howard, Ian Ferguson
U. 15: Tom Waters, Sophie O Neill
U.17: Luca Berganova
U.19: Patrick Treacy

Javelin - Ian Ferguson (1st), Jude Orr (2nd-U.15), Jack Kennedy (3rd - U.15), Luca Borganova (1st-U.17), Liam Kerin (2nd - U.17).
Shot Putt: Cian Cosgrove 1st- U.14, Shane Treacy - 2nd and TJ Kelly - 3rd, Jack Kennedy (3rd- U.15), Luca Berganova (1st - U.17), James Sheedy (2nd - U.17), Hugh O Brien (3rd- U.17)
High Jump: U.14 - 1st Henry Alabi, 2nd Alicio Viglino, 3rd Harry Dylan, Aoibhín ? (1st)and Bebhinn Howard (2nd). U.15 - Hugh O Brien (1st), U.17 - John Henry (2nd), Patrick Treacy (3rd), Rory Scanlan (2nd), Luca Berganova (3rd), Anna Blake (1st), Kanna Kodama (2nd).
Long Jump: U.14- Grace Farrell (1st), Bebhinn Howard (2nd), Sophia Deasy (3rd), Ian Ferguson (1st), Henry Alabi (2nd), Luke Higgins (3rd). U.15 - Oliver Udell (1st), Sam Mulrooney (2nd), Jude Orr (3rd), U.16 - James Sexton (1st), Ben Jones (2nd), Mark Hall (3rd), Victoria Alabi (1st), Jenny Dillon (2nd), Grace Ni Laoighre (3rd).


Well done to Evin Magee’s team on winning yesterday’s Tag Rugby competition – beating Mark Moynihan’s team in the final.

Newbridge College Newbridge, Co. Kildare, Republic of Ireland Tel: +353 45 487200 Fax: +353 45 487234 Email: info@newbridge-college.ie